GDZs – hong kong’s #1 favourite snack

Almost every weekday afternoon at around 3pm-ish – 4pm-ish, I get hungry, or sometimes, I just want to snack on something. This craving especially happens when I’m in the office. Today isn’t any different. For some reason, I had the yearning for Hong Kong’s most popular snack – the Gai Dan Zai (鷄蛋仔). There are many phonic spelling alternatives –  however it’s spelled, I like to call it “GDZs” for short. After a quick search, according to Wikipedia, the English name is “Eggette” – first time I’ve heard of it being referred to as such.

GDZs is a carb-filled snack primarily made of the basics – flour, sugar, egg batter, and evaporated milk, reminding me of Eggo Waffles and Belgian Waffles.  Compared to the conventional shape of waffles, what makes GDZs different is its shape when they’re cooked. Petite puff-like rounds link together to form a larger circular shape. To eat, you simply need to peel each of the puffs off to enjoy. The best GDZs are crispy on the outside and soft on the inside. Not a lot of places can achieve this consistency, trust me, I’ve tried many! Plus, it’s best eaten when it’s pipping hot.

I’m lucky enough to have the city’s best GDZ vendor, 利強記北角雞蛋仔,  within walking distance from my office. I slipped out for a quick GDZ run to find a line of 3, it’s a lot, considering an adjacent shop also sold the same thing, at a fraction of the price! By the time I got my goodies, there was a line of about 15 people thinking of wanting the same thing as me!! Even though I was the 4th in line, each wanting one order, there was still a waiting time of about 7 minutes because each batch is made-to-order.  The original shop is located in North Point, about 4 subway stops east from my office in Wan Chai, on Hong Kong Island.  They have 8 locations in Hong Kong. It’s unnecessary to venture  to the original shop, they’re just as good at all branches.

My craving was satisfied today!

Leave a Reply

