Chapter 1 – Food Finds: Hong Kong

I can’t say I’m the type of person who constantly searches for the newest restaurants in town, and who will go out of their way just to try a new restaurant. I’m the type who stumbles across restaurants I haven’t tried (new or old) and if it’s convenient for me, I’ll give it a try.

The Hong Kong restaurant scene reminds me of the New York City, the strongest and fittest survives. Being the 10th anniversary since my move back to Hong Kong this year, I definitely have my favorite ‘go to’ places, but at the same time, I do get curious to try new places that I come across – whether it be a friend’s recommendation, a review, or if I just simply pass by.

I can’t say I’m an organized person, so more often than not when I try to recall the restaurant I went to last week (forget about last month!) I struggle to locate the information. More often than not, I use my Instagram page as a first reference point, but I still find it difficult. Therefore, I’ve decided to document my food finds here, on my blog! It’s a great reference point for me, and it’ll be good to share it with you too! I will share three food finds periodically focusing on different parts of the world, so be sure to check back often! I will not only share positive recommendations, but also not so great finds, which really is to remind me not to go there again! For my first post, I’ve decided to highlight my home base – Hong Kong! So here goes:

Spot 1Pho Vietnamese Restaurant (越色牛肉粉餐廳)

Address: G/F, 3 Lan Fong Road, Causeway Bay (銅鑼灣蘭芳道3號地下)

I find that good Phở, or Vietnamese soup noodle, is extremely hard to find in Hong Kong. I’ve tried many places, from high end to ‘hole in the wall’ joints –  I haven’t been impressed, until I found this place. I came across this place about five years ago when it was at another location. Since they moved (at a more convenient location for me) about six months ago, I’ve been frequenting this place almost every other week. This place offers not only Phở, but other Southeast Asian food items such as Pad Thai, and Hainan Chicken Rice. Service is typical of Hong Kong operation – fast and efficient (at peak times, they push you out the door to turn the table for the next guest). Needless to say, I would still go back for a bowl of hot Phở any day, especially when the weather is chilly.

Spot 2Fleur de Sel 

Address: Shop 2J, Po Foo Building, Foo Ming Street, Causeway Bay (銅鑼灣富明街1號寶富大樓2樓J室)

I came across this place just by simply looking up! Residential buildings in popular commercial areas in Hong Kong are often occupied by retail or restaurants. It’s one way for independent shops to make it financially feasible for their existence (rents are typically much cheaper than ground floor storefronts). I was wondering in Causeway Bay, and looked up to admire the blue sunny sky on a Saturday afternoon – it was after days of cloudy weather, then I saw this European looking balcony and intrigued me to head to the second floor of that building. This cozy French themed venue only serves crepes, savory and sweet. From their chefs to their ingredients, it’s all imported from France – yes, even the chef! Every time I go back, the food is consistently fresh and tasty. Although their management of reservations needs more work (making a booking doesn’t mean you’ll your table is secured), their staff is friendly and caring. The staff once offered me a cup of honey with hot water after seeing (and probably hearing) me cough nonstop because of a sinus infection I had. I don’t go to any other crepe places except this one!

Spot 3i Creameria Dolce Giapponese 

Address: Various locations in Hong Kong
I became obsessed with this green tea themed dessert outlet during this past summer. The first shop started in Fashion Walk in Causeway Bay; a small standing room only locale, but within a span of a couple of months, three more shops opened, two in Causeway Bay (Sogo and World Trade Center), and one in Tsim Sha Tsui (Harbour City). The recipe to their success is simple – to have few but high quality ingredients, in their case, it’s primarily green tea soft serve, vanilla soft serve, red bean, mochi, fresh chestnut, fresh melon and grapes (both imported from Japan). Make it simple and make it good! Their green tea soft serve has a rich tea flavor, yet not bitter at all – one of the best I’ve had – definitely quality similar to ones you find in Japan! The combinations concocted by them is simply to die for!

What are you recent food finds? I look forward to exploring your finds!
6 thoughts on “Chapter 1 – Food Finds: Hong Kong

  1. Pingback: Hong Kong Eats 2 | Travel & Munches

Leave a Reply

