Dreaming of Lobsters

This summer, my family and I went on a tour of the US, to Los Angeles, San Francisco, and New York City. Looking back at the hundreds of photos I took, there was one consistent food type we had – it was seafood, specifically lobster, crab, and shrimp. Living in Hong Kong, seafood is readily available (all of which are imported), but the different varieties and having it in the US seems to be much tastier. It could all be in the mind, but I think the distance it needs to travel plays a factor as well.

In the three cities I visited, we had a combination of cooking methods – Chinese, Western and even fusion. I want to take this platform to document the restaurants that’s worth going back to, for myself and to whomever that comes across this blog post. In this post, I’m going to share what has now become my favorite lobster roll joint.

My first encounter of Luke’s Lobster was not in the US, but in Osaka, Japan about a year ago. It is the only outlet in Osaka, in Shinsaibashi, a popular shopping area. I wasn’t too impressed with their lobster roll when I had it. I remember it was the bun that stole the show, and not the meat. The meat was a bit soggy and there wasn’t much lobster taste. I left thinking why I had to wait in line for it.

Luke’s Lobster, Osaka – 大阪府大阪市中央区心斎橋筋1-3-21 

When I was in New York, on a number of different occasions, friends suggested that I give the Manhattan outlets a try, but I was hesitant after my experience in Osaka. I was walking around Manhattan and before I knew it, I passed by a Luke’s Lobster. I had no reason but not to give it a try – I was so happy I did! It is the best lobster roll I’ve had…ever!!

Luke’s Lobster – 5 West 25th Street (the one I went to, check their website for more shop locations in the US)

Besides lobster, they also have crab and shrimp rolls and also clam chowder. I had the chowder and it’s definitely worth a try! It was so good I had it for lunch AND dinner! At the 25th Street shop where I went, they also shared where the seafood came from. Mine was from Portland, Maine. I’m glad I ended up checking it out. It was meant to be!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Dreaming of Lobsters

  1. Pingback: Tokyo Eats | Travel & Munches

  2. Pingback: Tokyo Eats | Travel & Munches

Leave a Reply

