Tokyo Eats

I’ve been to Japan dozens of times and friends always ask for restaurant recommendations. While I have some favorites, my usual answer is I usually pick restaurants based on where I end up at the end of the night, rather than reserving places before arriving to Japan. This way, it wouldn’t restrict me from having to rush to the reservation if I was at the other side of town. I was told, at least in Tokyo, that there would be a charge for any cancelations regardless of reason. I know some desirable places really need reservations, so I have since limited myself to making 1 restaurant reservation on each trip so that I can try those more desirable restaurants. I do also sometimes make same day reservations for places I know may need a booking.  Also, I don’t tend to go to too fancy places, or Michelin starred restaurants. I find there’s a lot of good choices everywhere I go.

Instead of sending restaurant info emails to friends or me keeping track of business cards (which I’ve lost a lot of already), I’ve decided to list out my favorite places here. This list will be updated when necessary. Most of these places didn’t have English menus nor did their staff spoke any English, but it was still easy to communicate as their menus usually had pictures.

SUSHI PLACES

Sushi Midori 寿司の美登利

http://www.sushinomidori.co.jp/shop.php?name=shibuya

They have various locations in Tokyo but the one I usually go to is in Shibuya. They don’t take reservations and the wait can be long. During my last visit (Jan. 2017) we waited for 3 hours, but the average wait is around 1.5 – 2 hours. They now have have a ticket system, so you can walk around while you wait for the table instead of lining up (which we have done many times). Although there is a long wait, I still frequent this place at least once every time because I find the sushi to not only be of quality, but the cuts  of the fish are generous. They also have cooked items and sides. The average check per person is around HK$250 (US$31). It’s definitely value for money!

img_3194

Shibuya Shop

Uogaashi-Ichi Standing Sushi Bar 魚がし日本一 

http://www.uogashi-nihonichi.com/english/

Like sushi Midori, there are a number of outlets within Tokyo. The one I go to is in Shinjuku. This was a recent random find. As it states, it’s a standing sushi bar, so the shop (at least the one in Shinjuku) is quite small, with around 15 spots. This place usually isn’t that busy, but during peak times, there is a short line. The average check is about HK$250 (US$31).

2 thoughts on “Tokyo Eats

  1. Pingback: Hong Kong Eats 2 | Travel & Munches

  2. Pingback: Osaka Eats | Travel & Munches

Leave a Reply

